MORRISSEY: MY FIRST TRUE LOVE!

This past Wednesday 10/10/12 I had the pleasure to see Morrissey for the 4th time, but this time he played at Radio City Music Hall!!! Every show I have been too has been better then the next and every venue more interesting then the next. To see him play at my favorite venue was a dream come true. It always feels like such an honour to be able to go to Radio City. I remember as a child how amazing and overwhelming the space felt and I still have that feeling as an adult. What made it even more special is that my friend Alena, I was there with had never been to Radio City. I was so happy that the first show she saw there was with me and that it was MORRISSEY!

But onto the most important part…I have loved many musicians, but Morrissey and The Smiths have always been deep inside my heart. I remember as a teenager laying in my bed and listening to “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now” and thinking holy shit these guys get me and they are talking about the way I feel right now. Once I started dating the song “There Is A Light That Never Goes Out” became my anthem. The moment I heard the lyric “And if a double-decker bus crashes in to us, To die by your side

Is such a heavenly way to die. And if a 10-ton truck crashes into us, to die by your side well the pleasure the privilege is mine” I decided that this song would be how I would want to feel and how I would want someone to feel for the love I have for them.

 

So to see Morrissey again was such a highlight to my year filled with ups and downs. He started off the show with “Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me” which was as haunting as ever. What I found really exciting is that this time around he sang songs that I have never heard him sing. While my neighbors were upset that he did not sing “the hit song” “How Soon Is Now”, I was elated to hear “People Are The Same Everywhere” and “You’re The One For Me Fatty”. What was a bit of a down side to the show was when he sang “Meat Is Murder” and simultaneously showed videos of animal cruelty/slaughter. It was a bit disconcerting but Morrissey being a devout vegetarian it is only expected that he would take the opportunity to bring to light something that is very near and dear to his heart. As my friend said though it would have been nice for him to end the song and then say that was heavy hear is charming man, instead it was followed by “To Give (A Reason I Live)” which was a Frank Valli cover done beautifully but still pretty depressing. On the upside Morrissey and his band did not disappoint. They were tight and worked well together and you could tell that he has a great respect for the musicians he plays with.

 

One of the best parts of the show was when Morrissey asked a kid in the crowd how old he was/name. Kevin is 11 years old and was rocking out hard to Morrissey and ended up rushing the stage and hugging him. I have to admit that I was secretly jealous of Kevin. I have been close enough at other shows to touch his hand but wish I had the guts to rush the stage, haha.

Meet Kevin! The coolest 11 year old EVER!

Anyway kids thanks for listening to my rambling about my first love and I promise next week I will talk about hair again. In the meantime go out there and listen to some good music and go see some good shows and if Morrissey is one of them you will not be disappointed.
xx
Jessina
Leave a Reply

