pixie for me

pixie for me

Today is my 32 birthday and when I think back to all my years and all the different hair cuts/colors I have had the one haircut I always come back to is the “pixie”. Right before I started college I cut all my hair off, it felt so liberating and I to represent my new life on my body. Once college was over I felt that I had to have longer hair since I was going into the workforce and maybe my short hair would be too funky. However 10 years after college I found myself at the same place where I felt the need to cut all my hair off. I was working at a salon, in cosmetology and so cliché my boyfriend had broken up with me. So during the snow storm of 2010 I cut it all off and once again I was liberated and more myself.

Now my blog friends I just got really deep about my hair, but hair is an extension of who we are and holds a lot of weight on how we feel and for me when my hair is short I feel very feminine. While the normal standard of beauty is long, luxurious “Khardashian”, but in my world you create that standard. So for this entry I want to give a shout out to all the women who have shaved, cut, buzzed their hair and joined the “pixie” world. Michelle Williams is one of my style icons and she said it best “I’ve really grown into it – I feel like myself with short hair. And it’s been a really long time since I had long hair, five years. Of course, the only people who like it are gay men and my girlfriends. Straight men across the board are not into this hair!” She has got it right, I do notice that with short hair I receive less attention from men, however I am gonna rock this “pixie” as long as it makes me feel beautiful and confident and womanly and you should too!

XX
Jessina

Leave a Reply

